Main page > Events > International conference “Judicial power in modern society”

International conference “Judicial power in modern society”

Date and time:13–15 November 2019,

9:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m.

Place:Vilnius city

November 12 (Tuesday) – Arrival of participants

November 13 (Wednesday) – First day of the seminar (Vilnius University Aula Parva, Universiteto 3)

9:00 – welcoming speech: Prof. Tomas Davulis, Dean of the Faculty of Law, Vilnius University; Assoc. Prof. Vaidotas A. Vaičaitis, organizing committee.

9:30-12:30 – 1st panel: “Judiciary and separation of powers”, chair Prof. Izabela Skomerska-Muchowska and Prof. Marcin Gorski (Lodz);

13:00-14:30 – lunch time;

14:30-17:00 – 1st panel: “Judiciary and separation of powers” (continuation), chair: dr. Jelena Markova (Moscow);

18:00-19:00 – Dinner;

19:00-20:00 – Guided tour at Vilnius University historic building.


November 14 (Thursday) – Second day of the seminar (Vilnius University, MKIC library, Saulėtekio 5, Vilnius)

9:00 –12:30 – 2nd panel: “Judicial independence and immunity”, chair Prof. Tomasz Milej and dr. Lyna Sarapai (Nairobi);

13:00-14:30 – lunch time;

14:30-16:00 – 2nd panel: “Judicial independence and immunity” (continuation), chair Prof. Agoston Mohay (Pecs);

16:00-17:00 – study visit to National administration of judiciary (Nacionalinė teismų administracija, L. Sapiegos 15, Vilnius);

18:00-19:00 – Dinner;

19:00-20:00 – Guided tour to Vilnius Modern Art Museum (Mo muziejus, Pylimo 17, Vilnius).


November 15 (Friday) – Third day of the seminar (Faculty of Law, Saulėtekio 9, Vilnius)

9:00 –12:30 – 3nd panel: “Judicial power in fight with populism”, chair: Ms. Anna Borger (Cologne);

13:00-14:30 – lunch time;

14:30-16:00 – 4th panel: “Role of constitutional courts in modern democracy”, chair Assoc. Prof. Vaidotas A. Vaičaitis (Vilnius)

16:00-17:00 – study visit in the Constitutional Court and farewell of the seminar (Gedimino 36, Vilnius);

17:00-19:00 – Farewell Dinner, distribution of certificates.


November 16 (Saturday) – Departure of participants